Planning Commission

The five (5) member Gettysburg Planning Commission addresses Borough-wide planning issues. The Commission protects the health, safety, and welfare of Borough residents, and provides leadership in the management of growth and change of the economy, ecology, and environment of Gettysburg. Final development plan approval is vested with the Planning Commission - a notable difference from other planning commissions across the state, where planning commissions are advisory bodies and final development plan approval is vested with the legislative body.

Gettysburg Zoning Code Update/Rewrite Project

Gettysburg Borough wants your feedback on the zoning rewrite project.  See our project page here for draft updates and information on upcoming meetings.


Staff Contacts

Name Phone
John Whitmore, AICP (717) 334-1160 ext. 224
Charles R. Gable, MPA (717) 334-1160 ext. 222

Planning Commission Members

Commission MemberPositionTerm

Charles Strauss


1st Monday - Jan 2025

Nicholas Redman


1st Monday - Jan 2026

Sarah Kipp


1st Monday - Jan 2027

Martin Jolin


1st Monday - Jan 2028

John Rice


1st Monday - Jan 2025

Jenny Dumont


1st Monday - Jan 2026