Jacob Schindel

Jacob Schindel
(717) 253-0007

Gettysburg has operated as a "weak mayor-strong council" form of government since its ordination in 1806. Seven council members, each serving a four-year term, are elected in staggered years. Two council members are elected from each of three wards, while the seventh council member is elected at large (all three wards). The mayor is elected for a four-year term. The Borough Manager is appointed to the position by the Borough Council and is delegated the responsibility for taking care of the day-to-day business of the Borough. The Manager operates under the directions and official actions of the Council. Among other duties, he is responsible for directing and supervising the daily work of the administrative staff and coordinating the activities of all municipal departments.

The Borough supports open and responsive local government. We are proud of those who serve on our Borough Council, volunteer on our Authorities, Boards, and Commissions, and serve as Emergency Responder Personnel, as well as our dedicated employees who serve and protect residents and visitors.

Come. Visit. Enjoy the jewel of south-central Pennsylvania!

Mailing Address:

110 Chambersburg Street

Gettysburg, PA 17325


Department Memberships

DepartmentJob titleDate Served - If Applicable
January 1, 2016 to January 2, 2024
Active Membership